This year's T-Mobile New Horizons Festival will be held July 21-31. Some 393 films will be screened, including 221 full-length features-94 of which will be shown for the first time in Poland-from more than 50 countries. Screenings will be held at the New Horizons Cinema and on Wroclaw's Market Square, while special events will be held in the recently opened National Forum of Music. Hosting the event for the 11th time is the city of Wrocław European Capital of Culture 2016, while T-Mobile Poland SA will be the Festival's official partner for the 14th time. The most important sections at the festival will be as follows:
Festival competitions with Polish premieres

The New Horizons International Competition will be showing 10 original, unconventional films that aim to find new forms of expression. These include several productions that will be shown in Poland for the first time. One of the films competing for the Grand Prix will be Michal Marczak's All These Sleepless Nights, a pulsating portrait of young urban revelers that took home the award for best director at the Sundance Film Festival (European premiere). Also taking part in the competition is Ederly, a live-action feature film by a master of animation, Peter Dumała, about a town teetering between a dream and reality (world premiere).

The festival program also includes other competition sections: the Polish Short Films Competition sponsored by T-Mobile and the European Short Films Competition. The third edition of the Zoom Competition will once again be showing films and videos made by filmmakers and visual artists from Lower Silesia, including a story about a Czech mass murderer, I, Olga Hepnarová, directed by Tomáš Weinreb and Petra Kazda with Polish actress Michalina Olszańska in the title role. Prizes for the section were funded by Wrocław European Capital of Culture 2016 and the Audiovisual Technology Center in Wrocław.

Acclaimed filmmakers and festival winners

The competition sections will be presenting films by promising new filmmakers, while the Panorama and Ale kino+ sections will be featuring award-winning productions from prestigious festivals by acclaimed directors and recognized masters of world cinema. This year, the program also includes a special section, Panorama Gala, which features some of the most interesting hit films from various festivals, including the psychological thrillerThe Salesman by Asgar Farhadi (director of the memorable A Separation), which left Cannes with the prizes for best screenplay and best actor; and the FIPRESCI-winning Toni Erdmann by German director Maren Ade, a comedy-drama about a meeting between an eccentric father and his adult, workaholic daughter. There will also be new films by Bruno Dumont (Slack Bay,with a bravura performance by Juliette Binoche); one of the fathers of the Romanian New Wave,Cristi Puiu (Sieranevada); the Korean virtuoso of revenge films, Park Chan-wook (The Handmaiden, inspiredby a Sarah Waters novel); and Petr Zelenka (Lost in Munich, this year's winner of a Czech Lion, the top film award in the Czech Republic, for best screenplay).

This collection will be complemented by more than 40 films in the Panorama section, including new works by Cristian Mungiu (Graduation, best director award at this year's Cannes Festival); Gianfranco Rosi (Fuocoammare, Golden Bear for best film at the 2016 Berlinale); Mia Hansen-Løve (Things to Come); Philippe Mora (French Movie); Lav Diaz (A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery); André Téchiné (Being 17) ; Paweł Łoziński (You Have No Idea How Much I Love You, Silver Hobby-Horse for best documentary film at the Krakow Film Festival in 2016); Chantal Akerman (No Home Movie, the last film made by the Belgian director before committing suicide); Tsai Ming-liang (Afternoon); Laurie Anderson (Heart of a Dog); Eugène Green (The Son of Joseph); Albert Serra (Last Days of Louis XIV); and Alejandro Jodorowsky (Endless Poetry).

Masters of European Cinema

The Masters of European Cinema Series, established in connection with the European Capital of Culture, will continue as part of the program at this year's Festival. Wrocław will play host to nine outstanding filmmakers: Agnieszka Holland, Nanni Moretti, Carlos Saura, Claire Denis, Cristian Mungiu, Petr Zelenka, Ulrike Ottinger, Jessica Hausner, and Andrey Konchalovskiy. Each guest director will show at least two of their own films and one European film inspiration, thus creating their own kind of film canon covering a variety of styles from the Neorealist Bicycle Thieves (dir. Vittorio De Sica, 1948) to the contemporary Shame (dir. Steve McQueen, 2011). Our guests will also be conducting cinema master classes.
16th International Film Festival T-Mobile New Horizons 2016
powered by The Blob Studio
Copyright © The Blob Studio ltd.
6 Quarry Cottages, EH15 3HJ, Edinburgh, UK
Company No. SC674387