The winners of 16th T-Mobile New Horizons IFF

The winners of the 16th T-Mobile New Horizons International Festivals received their awards at a gala event at the New Horizons Cinema. Films competed in five different competitions this year: the New Horizons International Competition, the Films on Art International Competition, the Polish Short Films Competition, the European Short Films Competition, and the Zoom Competition.
From among the 10 films in the New Horizons International Competition, the jury, consisting of Mania Akbari, Gust Van den Berghe, Adrian Sitaru, Magnus von Horn, and Sandrine Marques, awarded the Grand Prix and 20,000 Euros to In The Last Days of the City (Akher ayam el madina, Egypt, Germany, United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, 2016), directed by Tamer El Said.

The Audience Award went to All These Sleepless Nights (Poland, United Kingdom, 2016), directed by Michał Marczak. The runner-up was Piotr Dumała's Ederly (Poland, 2015), while Felipe Guerrero's Dark Beast (Oscuro Animal, Colombia, Argentina, Netherlands, Germany, Greece 2016) took third prize.

In the Polish Short Films Competition, which was sponsored by the Festival's main partner T-Mobile Poland, the first prize and 10,000 PLN were awarded to Emi Buchwald for Education (Nauka, Poland, 2016). Second prize went to Natalia Siwicka for her film 16.03 (Poland, 2016), while the third prize was awarded to Zofia Kowalewska for Close Ties (Więzi, Poland, 2016). The winners were chosen by an international jury that included Juan Daniel F. Molero, Kim Yutani, and Edvinas Pukšt.

In the Zoom Competition-for filmmakers and visual artists from Wroclaw and Lower Silesia-the award for the best film, as well as a 10,000 PLN prize, went to Marcin Lesisz for Goran the Camel Man (Poland, Georgia, 2016). The winner of the best video clip was Limbs of Sun by Jaqueline Sobiszewski and Krzysztof Skonieczny (Poland, 2016). A special prize in the form of a scholarship funded by Wroclaw European Capital of Culture 2016 was awarded to Maciej Gryzełko for his music video Tu Do (Poland, 2015). The winners were chosen by a jury made up of Paweł Ferdek, Katarzyna Wilk, and Katarzyna Klimkiewicz.
16th International Film Festival T-Mobile New Horizons 2016
powered by The Blob Studio
Copyright © The Blob Studio ltd.
6 Quarry Cottages, EH15 3HJ, Edinburgh, UK
Company No. SC674387